Skip to content

We Are Bad Bloggers!!

November 6, 2008
by

sad-face

The title of this post is in itself an apology and a fairly cool name for a band. If you need a band name of course. We have been busy and therefore not consuming as much popular culture recently.  Aside from 30 Rock, The Office, and of course The Daily Show almost every night during the just ended election season, we have not watched much else. Van Morrison’s classic Moondance has been in heavy rotation around here and we have not watched a new movie, on DVD or in theater for a while. This new parent awesomeness just realigns things a bit, which is good. Also, I am applying to Graduate school, which takes quite a bit of time.

End of excuses.

We promise more posts soon. Oscar season is right around the corner folks! Check out the trailer for Slumdog Millionaire below. Directed by one of my contemporary favorites, Danny Boyle, (Trainspotting, Millions) this film took quite a few festivals by storm and is garnering early buzz. Synopsis below:

The story of how impoverished Indian teen Jamal Malik became a contestant on the Hindi version of “Who Wants to be A Millionaire?” — an endeavor made without prize money in mind, rather, an effort to prove his love for his friend Latika, who is an ardent fan of the show.

Sounds a bit cheesy I know, but it really surprised many a hard critic already and I know Danny Boyle’s visual acumen will do wonders. (Update) Looks like it is coming to the Landmark Theater in Edina on November 21.  I think it is being slowly released at first. Keep an eye out for it.

In the meantime, we’d love to hear from you, our understandably disbanded readership. What music, new fall TV shows, books, films etc, have been keeping you excited and engaged recently? We’d love to know about it.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2008 1:55 pm

    Thanks for the recommendation. I loved Trainspotting.

    I really wanted to go to that Sound Unseen dealio. Are you familiar with that? I thought I’d for sure see a post on it here. Unfortunately I missed it. Maybe next year?
    http://www.soundunseen.com/2008/

  2. Drew permalink*
    November 6, 2008 5:49 pm

    yeah, Sound Unseen looks great. I have friends who have gone in years past and loved it. The lineup this year was particularly enticing. maybe next year we can go to a few screenings together. if you and i are still around these parts of course.

    Lets do something soon!!!!!

  3. ericberget permalink
    November 7, 2008 11:39 pm

    That looks really good. Sigur Ros for the trailer…I like that.
    Last night we watched the Coen Bros. Burn After Reading and found it really enjoyable. Great cast, though I think I liked Malkovich’s character the most. Have you guys seen it yet?
    And we have recently got on the 30 Rock bandwagon. I can’t get enough. “Stuttermilk Pancakes.” (Maybe another band name)

  4. Drew permalink*
    November 8, 2008 10:32 am

    Not yet with the Coen Bros film. Heard its a good satire with, no surprise here, not one redeeming character. I don’t mind that though, I mean the Dude was a loser, but lovable.
    Anyway, we had a going away pot luck for Jeff Thompson here at work. He is leaving to pursue writing full time. I am envious.
    Way to finally jump on the 30 Rock wagon. The cast and writing are aces. So many layers to the humor, in that sense it reminds me of Arrested Development. The repeat enjoyment ratio is quite good. We are watching the 2nd season again on Netflix while watching the new season on Hulu.

  5. Haidi permalink
    November 10, 2008 12:37 pm

    I just finished The Final Solution by Michael Chabon. I thank you, Drew, for mentioning him. I really enjoyed the book. The illustrations added a nice touch and his way with words is amazing.

  6. Jeff permalink
    November 12, 2008 9:39 am

    I have been watching the amazing final season of The Shield. The show is mind blowingly good, with a cast of amazing actors. Only two episodes left and I am dying to know what happens.

    Regan and I saw Son of Rambow which was a fun and funny movie. I think you would like it.

    I have been watching heroes, not sure what to think of the season yet, can’t get Regan to watch it though.

  7. Drew permalink*
    November 12, 2008 10:22 am

    Jeff

    I miss you man. (sob)
    It’s funny, Son of Rambow is our next Netflix.
    Glad to hear you liked it. I have heard great stuff about The Shield. Really good except the Glen Close season.
    Lets talk sometime soon.
    say hi to Regan for us.

  8. Jerry permalink
    November 12, 2008 8:13 pm

    I finished reading Neal Stephenson’s “Anathem.” Great book, though not for the light of heart, lots of philosophy but really funny at the same time. I just reread Watchmen and am looking forward to the movie although I don’t know how well it will translate. Lots of the Daily Show. Hysterical. My favorite comedy bit was the Saturday Nite Live skit on the bail out. Lots of Jonathan Edwards – the new Edwards site at Yale is amazing. The most versatile search engine that I’ve seen. http://edwards.yale.edu/ They’ve transcribed 73 volumes of Edwards’s writing. I’ve been watching the Fringe its OK, I watched Sanctuary on SciFi but the writing was atrocious – very cliche. I’m eagerly awaiting Dollhouse and some good writing. Watched Hot Fuzz again, still funny. I’ve also been reading Evelyn Waugh. Liked Brideshead, I didn’t see the movie but from what I’ve read it turns the novel on its head. I’m reading Vile Bodies right now.

  9. Jeff permalink
    November 15, 2008 1:14 pm

    Drew,

    You are right about the glenn close season, she was terrible, the forrest whittaker season was fantastic though. WE’ve been watching Fringe as well, it has good parts and bad parts, kind of seems a little aimless at times, trying to figure out where they are going with the story line as it pertains to the so called “event”.

  10. Jerry Stutzman permalink
    November 18, 2008 12:24 pm

    I agree Jeff. Fringe does seem a bit aimless. I think its because the enemy is so ambiguous. It has no face – there is no villain that people can identify and loathe. With the X-file and with Lost there was the cigarette smoking man and Ben, respectively. You may not understand exactly what they were trying to accomplish or their motives but you had at least a glimpse into what the heroes were fighting against.

    Also, most of the characters are a bit flat, especially Olivia and Peter. The reason to watch is Walter, who is eccentric and funny. It doesn’t seem to create the tension or interest that other Abrams shows have. I still find the concept interesting, but I don’t feel like I care about the characters. If any of them but walter were killed off I would probably just shrug, “meh.” It might be because there is little back story to the characters. Unlike Lost where we are feed bits and pieces of their story, which allow us to know them and sympathize with them.

  11. Drew permalink*
    November 21, 2008 8:58 pm

    haidi (mom)

    glad you enjoyed Chabon. Let us know your take on The Yiddish Policeman’s Union. MPR has a nice interview with Chabon you should listen to when you’re done with the book.

    http://minnesota.publicradio.org/display/web/2007/05/28/midmorning2/

Leave a Reply

