Skip to content

Best Music of 2008 – Mates of State

January 18, 2009
by

One of my favorite Christmas gifts was Re-Arrange Us, the latest CD from the band Mates of State. Though it’s their fifth full-length album, they are new to me, and I’d like to introduce them to you!

mates_of_stateDon’t let their indie-rock posturing fool you, these two are nothing but pop music fun!

I first heard about Mates of State while listening to this All Songs Considered podcast. Guest reviewer Stephen Thompson summarizes his affection for the album thus: “I absolutely love this record. I think part of it for me is I have a seven year old and a four year old and they do not stop listening to this record, they love it so much. I think it’s the year’s most romantic record. It’s a song cycle about maintaining a loving relationship, and growing up as a couple, with kids. Re-Arranger has a chorus ‘love loud, don’t lose loud.’ And I just love that.”

That sounded great to me–I would love to listen to music I enjoy that my daughter will like, too! Well, then I heard the single “Re-Arranger” and WOW! It is fun, pop! music that just makes you feel all swelled up with happiness. Oh, but it gets better…

The band (made up of Kori Gardner and Jason Hammel) is a husband-and-wife team (so cute!). Oh yeah, and they take their two little girls (Magnolia & June) on tour with them (so inspiring!!).

This ABC interview is a great little insight into their life on the road: http://abcnews.go.com/video/playerIndex?id=6407198

The way they see it, making music and raising children are their jobs; they embrace them both, together. So (and here comes the soap box) as a mom who is frustrated by the separation of income-earning and caring for children, forcing children to see Mom during the week and Dad on the weekend, I am moved by their lifestyle (even as I doubt we could personally maintain it!).

For more on this fabulous band, check out their blog, Band on the Diaper Run, and listen to their music on MySpace.

Mates of State will be at the Varsity Theatre in Minneapolis on April 12 (Easter Sunday). Click here to get yourself some tickets!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. brad permalink
    February 3, 2009 10:31 am

    http://www.participantmedia.com/

    I was at a conference in San Diego and one of the featured speakers at a child maltreatment conference of all people was the director of Revenge of the Nerds….Peter Samuelson.

    Anyway he directed the audience to this web site and I found it pretty interesting. Maybe you have seen it already….if not enjoy.

    B

    P.S. See you in a couple of weeks.

  2. May 21, 2009 9:52 am

    Нет,по настоящиму улыбнул 8 пункт,просто представил такую ситуацию ))).

  3. May 22, 2009 5:57 pm

    Кстати, если закончаться фото Одри, то можешь в фотошопе старые фото накладывать на новый фон, так и разнообразие будет и ты работать продолжишь

Leave a Reply

